login

sign up

*This field is required

*A valid email address is required

*This field is required

*Your password and comfirmation password doesn't match

Found 78 movies in total
Sort By:

There is a new wave of action movie that has graced our screens over the past decade. The prominence of stunt-coordinators stepping on to the mantle of “film director”. Most notably, this has been extremely successful for the exhilarating John Wick franchise. Netflix is now the latest company jumping on board with this idea with the action-thriller Extraction.

Directed by Sam Hargrave (stunt performer from the Avengers franchise), Extraction follows Tyler Rake (Chris Hemsworth) a gun-for-hire mercenary who is tasked with extracting the kidnapped son of an international drug lord.

This movie is violent. It is brutal. In fact, it is the most entertaining aspect of the movie. Each scene is incredibly choreographed, utilising gun combat, hand-to-hand combat, exploding helicopters, car chases, jumping off buildings! If you can imagine it, this movie probably has done it! Hemsworth is fantastic in these scenes, with a really commanding on-screen presence. The breathtaking one-shot action scene which lasts 12 minutes is a highlight of the movie, even though some spotty CGI and edits can be noticeable, it is still immensely tense to watch and shows great talent from the director and the stunt performers.

Extraction’s story is par for the course when it comes to action movies. Tyler Rake is troubled by his past as a black ops soldier (complete with a drinking problem and PTSD), the bad guys do awful things to double down on their “bad guy” status, and the film uses it’s story to just go from action set piece to set piece without any overly intriguing dialogue or plot developments.  Hemsworth does get to show off more acting chops than this movie deserves in one particular scene, however when Extraction takes a breath from the insane action, these scenes feel like they overstay their welcome and start creating an itch for more action scenes to return to the screen!

If you’re in the mood to sit back and watch Chris Hemsworth brutalise his way through action set pieces without having to get to emotionally involved with the story and characters, then Extraction is one of the more passable action movies that Netflix have given us in recent times.

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Nick (NicksFlicksFix)

Josh Says - Action packed, brutally violent, and Hemsworth strutting his Aussie flair! What’s not to like..
The light plot honestly took nothing away from my enjoyment. The set pieces and choreography blew me away! *Do yourself a favour and watch the ‘shot by shot’ over on YouTube...

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 

Plot: Tyler Rake, a fearless mercenary who offers his services on the black market, embarks on a dangerous mission when he is hired to rescue the kidnapped son of a Mumbai crime lord…

Run time: 116m Tagline: When the mission ends, redemption begins Release: 2020-04-24

Director: Sam Hargrave

Stars: Bryon Lerum Chris Hemsworth David Harbour Golshifteh Farahani Pankaj Tripathi Piyush Khati Randeep Hooda Rudhraksh Jaiswal Ryder Lerum Shivam Vichare

On their first date, the initially nameless characters of Queen (Jodie Turner-Smith in her first film role) and Slim (Get Out’s Daniel Kaluuya) are pulled over by a police officer. After an altercation leave Queen shot in the leg and Slim killing the officer, the pair must go on the run together in this modern-day Bonnie and Clyde tale, that is not afraid to explore themes of race relations, police brutality and identity in this modern world.

Lena Waithe has penned the script for this film and you can feel her powerful voice through the dialogue and scenarios throughout. There are many scenes where you are constantly being challenged to question who is right and wrong, not just with the altercation with the police officer in the film’s opening, but also the reactions of every character they interact with as the story goes on.

Melina Matsoukas, who is known for her work in the music video industry, has crafter a stylish looking movie. The way Queen and Slim is compiled through its shots and editing make it a riveting visual watch. As the audience, we always feel closely involved with the action, never missing a beat, facial expression or emotion. One scene in particular which juxtaposes an extremely sensual sex scene with a large protest was one of the most captivating moments of cinema I’ve personally encountered.

However, it was the lead stars performances that had me invested the most. Kaluuya has once again proven he is a star worth watching. He is a mild-mannered man of faith, who consistently questions his purpose in life as a black man, and his struggle with understanding that purpose within God’s plan. The subtlety he brings to this role is phenomenal.

But, Jodie Turner-Smith has just shot up to one of the actors working today who I want to keep a close eye on. Queen is written as a smart, head-strong, independent African-American woman, and Turner-Smith does not hesitate to empower that role fully. However, it’s the insecurities that come with her character that had be me captivated by this performance. I believed every single emotion this character went through.

The movie goes to a lot of different locations, there are a lot of different things happening in these locations, and there is a lot of characters to meet along the way. While this frantic nature may possible be an accurate resemblance of what it would be like living in this crazy scenario, it can take a toll on the film’s pacing (especially with its 132 minute runtime).

Nevertheless, Queen and Slim is a thought-provoking, powerful story with a great addition of humour here and there which makes this insane tale one worth checking out.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Nick (NicksFlicksFix)

While on a forgettable first date together in Ohio, a black man and a black woman are pulled over for a minor traffic infraction. The situation escalates, with sudden and tragic results, when the man kills the police officer in self-defense. Terrified and in fear for their lives, the man, a retail employee, and the woman, a criminal defense lawyer, are forced to go on the run. But the incident is captured on video and goes viral, and the couple unwittingly become a symbol of trauma, terror, grief and pain for people across the country.

Run time: 131m Release: 2019-11-27

Director: Melina Matsoukas

Stars: Benito Martinez Bokeem Woodbine Chloë Sevigny Daniel Kaluuya Flea Indya Moore Jahi Di'Allo Winston Jodie Turner-Smith Melanie Halfkenny Sturgill Simpson

Mark Ruffalo is a dedicated and obsessive corporate defense attorney, who takes on an environmental lawsuit against a chemical company that exposes a lengthy history of pollution.

Director Todd Haynes (Carol, I’m Not There) once again teams up with cinematographer Edward Lachman to tackle the biopic/legal drama genre with his latest film. I had my doubts that i was not going to like Dark Waters, but it’s always such an amazing feeling to have your prejudices proven wrong. After the relatively sluggish and not so intriguing first act, the film really picks up tempo and becomes a solid legal drama, with an exceptional lead performance from Mr. Ruffalo, who shines as the attorney. His drama acting always comes with such energy and authenticity. I really wish he did more roles like this, his portrayal of Robert Bilott is sophisticated and feels so natural. Supporting cast also unsurprisingly carries their weight

Where the film is at it’s very best is when we see the lead character struggling with his obsession to the case, whilst trying to be a part of his supportive family. It didn’t hurt either that the story was ultimately very fascinating and quite frankly, it managed to make me angry. Lies after lies, and a ridiculous attempt on a cover-up, it’s hard to believe this actually went down. Shows the best and the worst in people.

Dark Waters is a well-shot film (all though the color palette is a bit too blue for my taste) i get the reasoning for it, to me it felt like they showcased the main characters obsession with it. But, too heavy handed for my taste. The score and editing were great assets in helping to set the mood of this film. -
Dark Waters is not exactly an unique biopic, but very few are. Though it’s far from the most generic ones, it’s still hard to find elements in it i hadn’t seen before. All though the topic is very much different, the film heavily reminded me of Spotlight, released few years earlier. Though, not nominated for any awards, on a different year that maybe wouldn’t be the case. Pleased to say, John Denver’s Country Roads is very much present. As it has been in so many films lately.

I had a few gripes with this film, nothing too heavy. The first act came across a bit sloppy but after that it totally picks up. Also, if the story takes place in multiple decades, how come no one gets visibly older. Particularly Ruffalo’s character, that bugged me a bit. Also, the one i mentioned before. It was just way too blue at parts. It’s a biopic that took the safe approach, guaranteed to gain some critical acclaim but somehow, deep inside i wish it was more. It’s a fairly generic yet electric and very interesting legal drama with an important yet obvious message to tell.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Written by Roope (Purgatoryflicks)

Plot
A tenacious attorney uncovers a dark secret that connects a growing number of unexplained deaths due to one of the world's largest corporations. In the process, he risks everything — his future, his family, and his own life — to expose the truth.

Run time: 126m Tagline: The truth has a man on the inside Release: 5th March 2020 (Australia)

Director: Todd Haynes

Stars: Anne Hathaway Bill Camp Bill Pullman Louisa Krause Mare Winningham Mark Ruffalo Scarlett Hicks Tim Robbins Victor Garber William Jackson Harper

Quick Bite-sized Review
Stylistically, Motherless Brooklyn fits the 'crime-noir' genre well. It's got the brooding voice-over, the production design is vintage 60s and Norton's direction leans heavily into making the movie feel like the crime films of it's time.

It definitely feels like a first time directorial efforts. There is a mix-match of tones when it comes to certain shots, editing and song choices. And the film drags on a lot with its 140 minute run time. 

This movie isn't great, but it's made me interested in what Norton could do next.

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Nick (NicksFlicksFix)

Plot
Lionel Essrog, a private detective living with Tourette syndrome, ventures to solve the murder of his mentor and best friend — a mystery that carries him from the gin-soaked jazz clubs of Harlem to the slums of Brooklyn to the gilded halls of New York's power brokers.

Run time: 144m Release: 2019-10-31

Director: Edward Norton

Stars: Alec Baldwin Bobby Cannavale Bruce Willis Edward Norton Ethan Suplee Gugu Mbatha-Raw Josh Pais Leslie Mann Michael Kenneth Williams Willem Dafoe

Note to cinemas. They need to start installing seat belts in cinemas, because this gives new meaning to being on the edge of your seat. Be careful! Don't fall off.

I was super keen for this as soon as I watched the first trailer. I LOVED Upgrade, and Elisabeth Moss is always great at bringing something different to the table. So going in my expectations were fairly high, and this exceeded them…. by a lot. The tension that is created in this horror/thriller is brilliant and undeniable. It's methodical build and purposefully slow camera work really gets under your skin, and puts you on high alert. It's truly brilliant. Also the sound design and score are exceptional. See this somewhere with great surround sound!

Performance wise, Moss is always superb in my books, and this is no different. She's so believable, so rooted in her character. The film most certainly works in big part, due to her harrowing portrayal of a women escaping a violent relationship.

Leigh Whannell, coming off the back of the electrical effort that was Upgrade, has put another foot firmly forward with this remake of The Invisible Man. Making this film for $7M is an astonishing effort. I almost don't believe it. The production is stunning. Whannell seemed to have a almost impossible task ahead of him and he has 100% delivered.

This is suspense at it's best! This is horror at its smartest. Just go see this film!! I really don't think you will be disappointed. Unless you have a heart condition or something. Then, this comes with a warning.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

Movie Review by Josh https://www.instagram.com/film_notions/

Plot
When Cecilia's abusive ex takes his own life and leaves her his fortune, she suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of coincidences turn lethal, Cecilia works to prove that she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.

Run time: 110m Tagline: What You Can't See Can Hurt You

Director: Leigh Whannell

Stars: Aldis Hodge Amali Golden Anthony Brandon Wong Benedict Hardie Bianca Pomponio Elisabeth Moss Harriet Dyer Oliver Jackson-Cohen Storm Reid Zara Michales

Australian Release date - April 2nd 2020

Just came out of the new Disney Pixar movie Onward and I'm honestly very happy. After the two horrendous, so called family movies Dolittle and Sonic, Onward does not disappoint.

Though Onward isn't something particularly new to the game and for many reasons it won't stand out as much as other animated features do. Overall the movie hits the right spots when it comes to a lovely, cute and relatable character design and an enchanting, beautifully and heartwarming story about family and brotherhood.

With magic the two brothers try to bring their father back (who died before the younger brother was born) for only one day and surprise, that won't quite work out as well as they thought it would. Due to the fact that there is now only the bottom half of their dad wandering around, they have to come up with a plan that leads to a fantastic adventure road movie, that almost felt like a role play game for the viewer (though in fact they adapt many things from such games). As for that the opening sequence reminded me of an intro for a MMORPG games like LOTR. I mean Wizards and elves introduced by a voice over.... You know. Just a magical place you want to be when all magic seems to be lost.

The story holds some really funny moments which simultaneously remind us of our inner child, our passion to live, and that we have to appreciate the people around and close to us more when we often tend to forget that.
And the last thing I'll say - Chris Pratt and Tom Holland did an amazing job with the voice acting. Absolutely loved it!

Onward is the family movie I was hoping for to see. Totally recommended!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Movie Review by Maddy (Filmaddy)
(As part of The Berlin Film Festival - Berlinale Special Section)

Plot
In a suburban fantasy world, two teenage elf brothers embark on an extraordinary quest to discover if there is still a little magic left out there.

Run time: 103m Release: 2nd April 2020

Director: Dan Scanlon

Stars: Ali Wong Chris Pratt John Ratzenberger Julia Louis-Dreyfus Lena Waithe Mel Rodriguez Octavia Spencer Tom Holland

The Lodge is a new psychological thriller that, in the best way, borrows from films like Hereditary, It Comes At Night and The Shining, but at the same time carves out a personality all of its own. The Lodge is unsettling, disturbing, and wickedly moody.

A family heads to their winter cabin for Christmas, as part of a 'get to know you' for the kids and the new girlfriend, Grace. Grace (Riley Keough) has a dark past, and the kids really don't trust her. When they arrive at the lodge, something isn't right, and when the Dad (Richard Armitage) has to leave for work, everyone starts feeling it's effects. But, It's not what you first expect.

One of the reasons The Lodge works so well, and there are many, is how it takes it's time to set the mood and tone for the film, while being intriguing and entertaining. There's a brilliant use of sound, which will inevitably make you jump out of your seat a few times, and the film is beautifully and meticulously shot. I really loved how this looked, and this is where the comparisons to It Comes At Night come from.

Austrian writer/director duo, Severin Fiala & Veronika Franz previously brought us Goodnight Mommy. While I enjoyed Goodnight Mommy, it was partially ruined for me by 'Scariest Movie Ever' tropes it was receiving at the time. I didn't find it scary at all, and definitely found it more of a mood piece. This is what Fiala and Franz do and they do it well. With The Lodge they have created a film that is again a slow burn, yet it never drags. Not once did my mind go elsewhere.

Riley Keough is excellent in this. There's more than a couple of layers to her character and she plays them with ease. The two children actors, Jaeden Martell as Aidan, and Lia McHugh as Mia are also great. We've seen Martell before in Midnight Special, It 1 & 2, and more recently in Knives Out, but it was Lia McHugh (see her in the upcoming, Eternals) that really stood out. She is exceptional in this. She has some confronting scenes and she nails them all!

I really liked this film. It's overall tone and mood get under your skin in the best possible way, and I really didn't see where it was ending up.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Josh 

Nick Says - It's part Hereditary, part The Shining, part It Comes At Night. But it's entirely disturbing, creepy and haunting. Stunning imagery, claustrophobic cinematography and an amazing performance from Riley Keough. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Run time: 100m Tagline: You're not welcome here.

Director: Veronika Franz, Severin Fiala

Stars: Alicia Silverstone Danny Keough Jaeden Martell Katelyn Wells Lia McHugh Lola Reid Rebecca Faulkenberry Richard Armitage Riley Keough

'Right, if you don't mind, it's time to milk the alpacas.' This is Nic Cage's response to a freaky colourful meteor that lands in the backyard. This is what you're up for if you choose to go and see Color Out of Space. And I really think you should!

A few short years ago, we were given the gift of Nicholas Cage going beyond full Nic Cage, in the acid trip, fantasy horror, that was Mandy, and I myself loved it. Color Out of Space, produced by the same company, is definitely looking to feed off those feels. Richard Stanley is back directing his first feature in over 20 years, and I have to say he does a great job.

Now when you've got 2 guys involved in a film, that at one point in their lives they both went in a search for the Holy Grail, you know you should be in for something completely bonkers. And bonkers you have in spade fulls. Meteors, aliens, alpacas, a pussy cat called G-Spot, and that's only the half of it. When this thing gets into full swing, strap yourself in, because things get violent, weird and downright crazy!

There's so many quotable lines in this film, with 99% of them coming from Cage. His character, whilst in the midst of losing his mind, is beautiful to watch. I was getting those flamboyant Castor Troy vibes. The cinematography, and bright, vibrant colours are also done really well, with similarities to the look of Annihilation. That coupled with the score, another high point for me, gives it exactly the right brooding atmosphere.

My advice is watch the trailer and see what you think. If you love weird and wonderful, and you liked Mandy, then I'm pretty sure you'll dig this.

⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

Reviewed by Josh 

 

Plot
A story of cosmic terror about The Gardners, a family who moves to a remote farmstead in rural New England to escape the hustle of the 21st century. They are busy adapting to their new life when a meteorite crashes into their front yard. The mysterious aerolite seems to melt into the earth, infecting both the land and the properties of space-time with a strange, otherworldly color. To their horror, the Gardner family discover that this alien force is gradually mutating every life form that it touches...including them.

Run time: 111m

Director: Richard Stanley

Stars: Brendan Meyer Elliot Knight Joely Richardson Josh C. Waller Julian Hilliard Madeleine Arthur Melissa Nearman Nicolas Cage Q'orianka Kilcher Tommy Chong

Please be aware, the trailer for this film has done the marketing zero justice. Emma, although being the fifth adaptation of Jane Austen’s famous novel, is a breath of fresh air into the period-era genre. It’s consistently hilarious and stacked with a brilliant cast to provide a highly entertaining film going experience, whether you’re a fan of this kind of movie or not!

In this adaption, we see Anya Taylor-Joy (Split, Glass) in the titular role of Emma Woodhouse, a young woman who finds her daily amusement by meddling in the lives and romances of the people around her. The film boasts a variety of amazing performances, including Johnny Flynn as George Knightly (Emma’s on and off love interest), Mia Goth as Harriet Smith (Emma’s best friend) and the standout is Billy Night as Emma’s father, Mr. Woodhouse.

Taylor-Joy is a delight to watch on screen, even when you don’t really agree with some of Emma’s acts and motivations, there is no doubt a charm that is brought through her performance. As stated previously though, Bill Nighy is golden in this film. He’s overprotective of his daughter and himself to a hilariously ridiculous degree which provides many moments of humour that can close out a scene like the cherry on top of the sundae!

Screenwriter Eleanor Catton has done a great job of adapting Austen’s material for a contemporary audience. Just like any adaptation from literature, sometimes the film version can miss crucial elements of the story or character development. However, Emma does not feel like it suffers from this as the story moves along at a reasonable pace while feeling cohesive and keeping essential plot point. Another one of the scripts strengths is the ability to have the film still make sense even with the inclusion of the all the period-era dialects, maintaining the films rapid fire wit throughout.

The film’s production design and setting is captured very well by director Autumn de Wilde (Emma being her debut feature film). Every location is stunning to look at and the interactions between characters is filmed with a very deliberate style of creating romanticised tension. A great example of this is the dance scene at the ball, in which, with the use of extremely minimal dialogue, de Wilde is able to establish relationships and advance the story through the classic style of “show, don’t tell”, and that is a quality not many directors can pull off.

Aside from a few technical mishaps with the editing early on (which is only noticeable if you’re looking for it), Emma is a humorous and wholesome delight that provides the hope that after this and Little Women, with the right people behind the wheel, can deliver exciting period-era films for all the enjoy.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Nick (NicksFlicksFix)

Plot
In 1800s England, a well-meaning but selfish young woman meddles in the love lives of her friends.

Run time: 124m Tagline: Handsome, clever, and rich.

Director: Autumn de Wilde

Stars: Amber Anderson Anya Taylor-Joy Bill Nighy Callum Turner Gemma Whelan Johnny Flynn Josh O'Connor Mia Goth Rupert Graves Tanya Reynolds

Are you a fan of the 1970s classic TV show ‘Fantasy Island’? Great! Stick with the show, because even when that series was at its worst, it still wasn’t as bad as 2020’s revamped-for-a-younger-audience-horror adaption, Blumhouse’s Fantasy Island (and yes, the title card at the beginning of the film has “Blumhouse’s Fantasy Island”).

A group of people win a competition to travel to an island run by Mr. Roarke (Michael Pena), who have the opportunity to live out their ultimate fantasy. A girl who wants revenge on her high school bully, a cop who always wanted the chance to be a soldier, a woman who wants one more chance with the person she loves most. These are just some of the ideas that Fantasy Island brings forward for the audience to invest in.

And to be fair, at surface level, this concept should make for an interesting movie. In fact, Fantasy Island at times does feel like there is a passable thriller movie hiding in between every bad joke, every awful twist and every uninspired jump scare. In the hands of someone who cared more about making a good movie, rather than just making something for cheap that the kids will love, Fantasy Island may have been another one of Blumhouse’s semi-reasonable hits.

However, this “horror-thriller” will now go down as one of 2020’s most unintentional comedies. This is the sort of film that warrants you getting your mates together on a Friday night and playing a drinking game with it. In no way is this a good movie, but it’s definitely one that can be enjoyed (albeit not for the reasons it should be enjoyed) under the right (intoxicated) circumstances.

Fantasy Island falls hard into some many horror tropes that it feels stale. The script isn’t intriguing, the direction isn’t commanding attention, the humour is mismatched to the scenes it is placed in and the performances (with the light exception of Maggie Q)… well they actually feel like the belong in this movie.

 ⭐️✨

Reviewed by Nick (NicksFlicksFix)

 

Plot
A group of contest winners arrive at an island hotel to live out their dreams, only to find themselves trapped in nightmare scenarios.

Run time: 109m

Director: Jeff Wadlow

Stars: Austin Stowell Charlotte McKinney Jimmy O. Yang Lucy Hale Maggie Q Michael Peña Michael Rooker Parisa Fitz-Henley Portia Doubleday Ryan Hansen

This beautiful French animation on Netflix is a wonderfully unique way to tell a love story. The film has many messages from life's dreams to taking charge of your future, and ultimately destiny. I Lost My Body was nominated for an Oscar this year for Best Animation, and deservedly so.

{This is a French film, but Netflix will probably start the film in the dubbed English. Just click the speech bubble menu, and change it back to French with English subtitles for the authentic experience.}

The unique part of the story starts at the beginning. A severed hand has been left behind after an accident of some sort, and starts a journey to find it's body. The adventure of the hand travelling all over Paris is cleverly intertwined with flashbacks of the love story. It's also a remarkable effort how human like the hand becomes, quickly taking on a whole persona of its own.

I really loved the animation and the way the story is puzzled together. It's nice to see something a little different on Netflix. Give it a go. I think you'll like it.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Josh

Plot
A story of Naoufel, a young man who is in love with Gabrielle. In another part of town, a severed hand escapes from a dissection lab, determined to find its body again.

Run time: 81m

Director: Jérémy Clapin

Stars: Alia Shawkat Dev Patel George Wendt Hakim Faris Hichem Mesbah Myriam Loucif Patrick d'Assumçao Victoire Du Bois

And the history making Best Picture Oscar goes to Parasite. The first non-english language film ever to win the main award! Also taking out Best International Feature and Best Director & Best Original Screenplay.

Review
Parasite is satirical, darkly funny, shocking, exciting, horrifying, introspective, analyzing and deeply enjoyable.

It's a great look into the class-systems of South Korea as we follow a poor family's hustle into the lives of a rich family.

At 2hr 12mins, it's paced well enough to consistently keep you intrigued as the story and characters develop.

The script is superb. The cinematography and direction is flawless. If you're a fan of foreign cinema, you'll love it. If you're a fan of great movies, you'll love it.

Please watch this and show that we as consumers want more cool shit like this!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewed by Nick (NickFlicksFix)


Roope Says

Many incredibly stunning shots, the colors of the 2 different worlds, dividing the wealthy from the poor, was totally powered by outstanding cinematography. Tremendous acting and yet again flawless directing from Mr.Bong. Thus far, this is the best film i’ve had the pleasure to watch all year. A masterpiece, simply put. Highly recommended, even if you are allergic to subtitles. This film demands to be seen.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Plot
All unemployed, Ki-taek's family takes peculiar interest in the wealthy and glamorous Parks for their livelihood until they get entangled in an unexpected incident.

POSTER DESIGN By
Marie Bergeron (mb_illustrations)
You can buy prints @ mbstore

Run time: 132m Tagline: Act like you own the place.

Director: Bong Joon-ho

Stars: Chang Hyae-jin Cho Yeo-jeong Choi Woo-shik Jung Hyeon-jun Jung Ji-so Lee Jung-eun Lee Sun-kyun Park Myung-hoon Park So-dam Song Kang-ho

It’s colourful, it glitters and it has an Egg Sandwich! Soooooo that has been the fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn…. As usual I haven't seen a trailer before and therefore I went in without any expectations. Even if I wasn’t overly excited for this movie since, I was so massively disappointed by Suicide Squad, I’m happy to announce that this movie worked pretty well. It’s not a revelation to the business, but it’s definitely worth watching!

Anyone who wants to criticize the feminist touch of the movie should consider looking up the word “emancipation”, which appears in the title.... Because Harley Quinn is definitely a movie that breaks with some visual habits we are used to when we think about comic book adaptations, as well as superhero and actions movies, which are for the most part dominated by a male cast. And this is what feels a bit strange at first about this movie, and I’m saying this from a cinephile point of view. We’re so used to certain standards of portraying women and men in specific movies or genres that we seem to forget that women can easily carry an action movie pretty well all on their own.

Yet it’s hard to describe the feeling I had while I watched this movie. It felt girly but never too much and it was relatable – as a girl you can’t say this often, when watching movies like Iron Man, Batman... you name one... Those are good entertaining movies, but do I feel connected to them?.. Nah not much. With Harley Quinn it's slightly different. For one, Harley and all the other girls look normal, not running around half naked or over dressed with tons of makeup. Just some (almost) ordinary woman, who love to have fun, are sick of being told what to do, or see their achievements taken by a man who then get all the credit, who love some good unhealthy food and who can definitely can kick some ass, not just as a sidekick. The action in this movie is beautifully choreographed and edited. Though I thought that some music choices they made weren’t always the best.

Personally I would have loved if the songs would have been more adapted to the cuts and the camera movement or the tempo of the action sequences. So visually speaking they were almost perfect, but the sounds could have been better overall. But that’s just some nit picking I’m doing here.

The major issues I had was the storytelling and the introducing of all the characters. I was immediately reminded of ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ because I had the same problem with that movie. Too many characters you don’t know who need to have a proper introduction so anyone (like myself) who never have read a comic book would understand who they are and why they end up together as the “Birds of Prey”. The more characters, the more flashbacks, the more confusing timelines…. and voila you’re standing in front of a little mess that makes it a bit harder to really feel for any of the girls or to be really invested in the story. Ewan McGregor as the villain is fantastic but I couldn’t help it but only picture Sam Rockwell when he appears on screen (if you see the movie I think you know why). It really kept me slightly distracted and I started to wonder if Rockwell might have been a better choice….? So I, for my part see some weaknesses within the storytelling ,but it doesn't keep you from enjoying this one - “Birds of Prey” became a fun time movie, that offers great action, a fantastic female cast ( Mary Elizabeth Winstead is outstanding, absolutely loved her) and an awesome soundtrack. Forget about the Joker I want more of Harley and I do hope that it gets a sequel!

⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

Written By Maddy (Filmaddy)

Josh Says
Birds of Prey is like a mashup of Deadpool and Kill Bill, but not really in a good way. Don't get me wrong, it's fun and poppy in the right places. It has peaked my interest to see what comes next in this planned trilogy, and I hope they concentrate more on the pack, rather than just Harley.
⭐️⭐️⭐️

Plot
After splitting with the Joker, Harley Quinn joins superheroes Black Canary, Huntress and Renee Montoya to save a young girl from an evil crime lord.

Run time: 109m Tagline: Mind Over Mayhem Release: 5th Feb 2020

Director: Cathy Yan

Stars: Ali Wong Chris Messina Dana Lee Ella Jay Basco Ewan McGregor Jurnee Smollett-Bell Margot Robbie Mary Elizabeth Winstead Matthew Willig Rosie Perez

American Factory is an Oscar Nominated documentary produced by the Obama's new production company, Higher Grounds. Yet another Netflix Original that has been nominated for an Academy Award this year.

This Doco is a fascinating look into different cultures coming together under tough conditions. Ups and downs for everyone involved, it really sheds a light on work ethics and how we have been brought up in our respective countries. Makes you think.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Review by Josh

Plot (Documentary)
In post-industrial Ohio, a Chinese billionaire opens a new factory in the husk of an abandoned General Motors plant, hiring two thousand blue-collar Americans. Early days of hope and optimism give way to setbacks as high-tech China clashes with working-class America.

Run time: 110m Release: 2019-08-21

Director: Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert

Stars: Cynthia Harper Dave Burrows Jeff Daochuan Liu Jill Lamantia John Gauthier Junming 'Jimmy' Wang Rob Haerr Shawnea Rosser Sherrod Brown Wong He

Richard Jewell is a film jam packed with wonderful performances. Sam Rockwell is fantastic, and isn't being talked about nearly enough for this role. Kathy Bates is great in her Oscar nominated role. And in any other year, I think Paul Walter Hauser would have been nominated for Best Actor. He is incredibly authentic and the emotional punch his portrayal delivers is mesmerising. This is a performance driven drama, that elevates a straight forward story into something quite special.

Clint Eastwood has delivered some great films in the past. Unforgiven, Mystic River, Gran Torino, and Sully to mention just a few. He has been a little hit or miss over the past decade. Hereafter, The 15:17 to Paris and The Mule (I didn't mind The Mule, it was ok). Richard Jewell is a step back in the right direction for the almost 90 year old director.

Based on the true story of Richard Jewell, a security guard who's life is flipped upside down by the media, turning him from hero to terrorist with one front page article. Jewell is an overzealous law enforcement wannabe, and while doing security at a concert at the 96 Olympics, he spots a bag left under a bench. This probably would have gone unnoticed if Jewell wasn't there, but he ends up saving many lives with his actions. But he fits a profile. He's a man who still lives at home with his Mother and shows a keen interest in law enforcement. Is this an elaborate plan to attract attention to himself as a hero? No matter the facts, it makes for a great story.

Clint takes aim at the media in a big way. The power they wield over everyday people, and their eagerness to stretch truths for newspaper sales, no matter the effects on innocent lives. Richard Jewell is a great reminder of the media's effect on our everyday.

Aside from the stellar performances, the film works best in the time it takes to tell the story, with tension and emotion building wonderfully throughout. You really get to know Richard Jewell and at times you're shown the reasons he was an interest to the authorities. The authorities he admires, respects and can do no wrong. It's a sad story, but one we need to be reminded of.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Written by Josh B (FilmNotions)

Nick Says (NicksFlixFix)
Sam Rockwell is the standout here! However, the performances across the board a pretty strong. It’s a little too long and definitely had scenes that could’ve been removed, but you can say that about every Eastwood movie.
⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

Plot
Directed by Clint Eastwood and based on true events, "Richard Jewell" is a story of what happens when what is reported as fact obscures the truth. "There is a bomb in Centennial Park. You have thirty minutes." The world is first introduced to Richard Jewell as the security guard who reports finding the device at the 1996 Atlanta bombing-his report making him a hero whose swift actions save countless lives. But within days, the law enforcement wannabe becomes the FBI's number one suspect, vilified by press and public alike, his life ripped apart. Richard Jewell thinks quick, works fast, and saves hundreds, perhaps thousands, of lives after a domestic terrorist plants several pipe bombs and they explode during a concert, only to be falsely suspected of the crime by sloppy FBI work and sensational media coverage.

Run time: 132m Release: 07 Feb 2020 (Australia)

Director: Clint Eastwood

Stars: Dylan Kussman Ian Gomez Jon Hamm Kathy Bates Mike Pniewski Nina Arianda Olivia Wilde Paul Walter Hauser Sam Rockwell Wayne Duvall

Peanut Butter Falcon is this years Hunt for the Wilderpeople, and if you have a beating heart, it's one that's not to be missed.

Most years we get one film that soars above all others in the feelgood, heart warming stakes. 2016 brought us the delightfully incredible Hunt for the Wilderpeople, and in 2013 we got Ben Stillers marvellous The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. These are the oh so re-watchable films that get better and better every time you revisit them. They exude passion and heart, and ultimately make you feel better about the world around you. They are films that demand to be watched again and again, because while you're watching them you really don't want them to end.

Welcome to 2019's Peanut Butter Falcon, by debut feature directors, Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz. Both have directed a few shorts and documentary shorts, but this is their first foray into a cinema feature. And what a damn fine debut! It's one of those beautiful stories, I just can't see anyone not liking. If you don't, I'm not sure your human, and please go and check yourself immediately.

Peanut Butter Falcon is a wonderful piece of storytelling, in a story written specifically for Zack Gottsagen. With stunning cinematography of the Florida coastline, rivers and marshes and a career best performance, this is the movie you need in your life right now!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

Reviewed by Josh

Nick Says (NicksFlicksFix)
Heartwarming, wholesome and hilarious. Shia LeBeouf and Zach's chemistry is golden. A gem of a movie that needs even more recognition that it's getting.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Plot
A down-on-his-luck crab fisherman embarks on a journey to get a young man with Down syndrome to a professional wrestling school in rural North Carolina and away from the retirement home where he’s lived for the past two and a half years.

Run time: 97m Release: 30th Jan 2020

Director: Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz

Stars: Bruce Dern Dakota Johnson Jake Roberts John Hawkes Jon Bernthal Mick Foley Shia LaBeouf Thomas Haden Church Yelawolf Zack Gottsagen